Torque and Chrome

Do you think this is a car scam?

heres an email response i got from a guy off craigslist for a car: The car is still available and the price for 2005 Ford Mustang GT Coupe is $3,800. It currently has 31,800 miles, runs great, no mechanical problems at all. There are no rips, tears, stains or marks of any kind in or on the car, has never been involved in an accident. The car has red leather interior and red brake calipers. It is a great 2005 Roush Mustang GT with a roush body kit and 20" black chrome rims. It also has an aftermarket grill, a couple hundred dollars worth of underglow and the shaker 1000 sound system. The underglow has many different options including several different colors, and paterns of movement. The clear title is available and it will be shipped with the car. You will receive the title, registration and bill of sale. I recently was promoted and had to move to the UK. I'm in London and the car is located in Columbia, SC. It's already prepared for shipping and the shipping taxes are included in this price. To secure this sale, we will use ebay to finalize our deal because it protects both buyer and seller and they keep the money until you get the car. You have 7 days to inspect the car and I receive the money after you make sure everything is ok and decide to keep it. If you don't like the car and want to return it, I will arrange to ship it back and you will be 100% refunded by ebay. I'm sure you will love the car and don't want to return it but it's good to know that you have this option available. If you have the funds available and want to buy it, I need your name and address to register the sale and receive the payment details from ebay. Many thanks, Robert PS. The VIN# is 1ZVHT82H7552*****, if you want to run a carfax report I also noticed he listed the car again for over $26,000. I'm pretty sure this is a scam, but damn, it's a nice car. I thought there might be a chance it's legit if I carefully buy it through ebay motors. THANKS I THOUGHT IT WAS A SCAM, BUT JUST WANTED SOME CONFIRMATION! i googled the vin and it came up with a lot of for sale things in nc but when i clicked them it said they were sold already. YOU DO REALIZE I WOULD HAVE HIM POST IT ON EBAY MOTORS AND I WOULD BUY IT THROUGH EBAY? It's amazing how people don't understand this simple concept.

Public Comments

  1. I can pretty much guarantee you this is a scam. After doing a quick search on autotrader.com the cheapest '05 mustang gt i could find (not even roush) was 18,000. Please, DO NOT purchase this car. the rims alone on that car are probably worth close to 3000. honestly, the shipping alone probably costs more than 3800. This is clearly a rip-off. Please do a service to others and report this to ebay.
  2. This is obviously a scam. First of all Ebay doesn't work like that. Ebay only handles transactions they list and the money is handled through Paypal, not eBay. That's the first red flag. The second is that they want to ship the car. READ THE WARNINGS on Craigslist about shipping cars and escrow accounts. 100% of them are fake. Don't be fooled by the low price and the promise of a smooth transaction. These thieves are fishing for a victim, don't be that guy. 100% SCAM. If you want to be sure this is scam ask the seller for an address, you want to inspect the car where it sits and talk to him via skype video phone before you give him a nickel. You want his mailing address and home phone number so you can call him. You want to see a photocopy of the title with his name and address matching what he gave you on the documents. You won't here from him again. Run the VIN through Google Search I bet the legitimate ad is on Ebay through a local dealer. All they do is steal photos and descriptions off eBay and create fake ads.
  3. It is a scam! E-bay does not do escrow accounts or any type of money transactions! I find these scams every week on Craigslist and mess with them!
  4. Bob, he must have put the wrong price in at listing. You run the carfax it's your buy. $26,000.00 seems like way to much. this is not a special yr so it's up to you.
  5. yes it is a scam. theres too many things wrong or out of place... for instance, he's in London, and just accepted a job in the UK, but, the car is Columbia, SC ??? Just how did that happen? I also see a lot of title information not mentioned.. Without getting an explaination from him about the exact status of the title, and something independent to validate what is being stated, I wouldnt go within 20 yards of that car... Here's what i would request... a photo copy of the car title showing the VIN and state of registration, and be given the chance to validate it for yourself... Your local police department or DMV could verify the status of the title, if you explained to them you just wanted confirmation of what you already know to make sure the car wasnt reported stolen prior to you buying it... and then I would demand that the last payment be made in person when I picked the car up in Columbia, SC. If he or his rep can't be there in person with the real title, and be willing to meet with you at the bank in Columbia to sign over the title, then I would run away from this deal as fast I could...
  6. You do realize that you're not actually buying through eBay Motors if it's listed on Craigslist and not on eBay Motors itself, right???? I don't know why people don't understand this simple concept.
Powered by Yahoo! Answers